The Board of Education of Moorestown Township Moorestown, New Jersey MINUTES

William Allen Middle School April 5, 2022 – 6:00 p.m.

I. Call to Order – 6:00 p.m.

The Special Meeting of the Moorestown Township Board of Education is called to order. This meeting is called in conformance with the "Open Public Meetings Act" with adequate notice provided as follows:

- Notice filed with the Courier Post on March 30, 2022
- Notice filed with the Burlington County Times on March 30, 2022

II. Moment of Silence

III. Pledge of Allegiance

IV. Roll Call

Present Dr. Sandra Alberti
Present Mrs. Melissa Arcaro Burns
Present Mrs. Jill Fallows Macaluso
Present Mrs. Cheryl Makopoulos
Present Ms. Lauren Romano

Present Mr. Mark Villanueva

Present Dr. Mark Snyder, Vice President Present Mr. Maurice Weeks, President

Present Mr. John Comegno, Esq., Solicitor Present Mr. Michael Volpe, Superintendent

Present Mr. James M. Heiser, Business Administrator/Board Secretary
Absent Dr. Karen Benton, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Innovation

Absent Dr. David Tate, Director of Special Education

Absent Ms. Carole Butler, Director of Human Resources, Inclusion and Diversity
Absent Mr. Jeffrey Arey, Director of Educational Technology and Innovation

V. President's Remarks

VI. Executive Session – 6:01 p.m.

BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Education of Moorestown Township, that it is necessary to meet in executive session to discuss certain items involving:

Board Vacancy Candidate Interviews

Moved by: <u>Dr. Alberti</u> Second: <u>Ms. Romano</u> Vote: <u>Unanimous</u>

VII. Return to Public - 8:42 p.m.

Moved by: Ms. Romano Second: Dr. Alberti Vote: Unanimous

VIII. Nomination for Board Vacancy

MOTION:

A motion was made by Dr. Alberti to nominate Mrs. Claudine Morano as a member of the Moorestown Township Board of Education. Dr. Alberti spoke of Mrs. Morano's qualifications as an advocate, being a team player and having a complimentary perspective to serve on the board. The motion was seconded by Dr. Snyder.

A motion was made by Mrs. Arcaro Burns to nominate Mrs. Caitlin Berman as a member of the Moorestown Township Board of Education. Mrs. Arcaro Burns spoke of Mrs. Berman's qualifications as an educator, community involvement and dedication to serve on the Board. The motion was not seconded and therefore did not proceed to a vote.

A motion was made by Mrs. Makopoulos to nominate Mr. David Vosbikian as a member of the Moorestown Township Board of Education. Mrs. Makopoulos spoke of Mr. Vosbikian's qualifications of collaboration and teamwork to serve on the Board. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Fallows Macaluso.

The floor was closed for nominations.

A roll call vote was taken in order of nomination, to appoint Claudine Morano to the Moorestown Township Board of Education until the next reorganization meeting. Results of the vote were recorded as follows:

Board Member	Vote
Alberti	Yes
Arcaro Burns	No
Fallows Macaluso	Yes
Makopoulos	No
Romano	Yes
Villanueva	Yes
Snyder	Yes
Weeks	Yes

MOTION:

To appoint Claudine Morano to the Moorestown Township Board of Education until the next reorganization meeting, pending approval of a background check.

Moved by: <u>Dr. Alberti</u> Second: <u>Dr. Snyder</u> Roll Call Vote: <u>6 – 2</u>

No: Mrs. Arcaro Burns.

Mrs. Makopoulos

Since Claudine Morano was selected by the majority of the Board, a second roll call vote was not required for Mr. Vosbikian.

IX. Public Comment

1. Open Public Comment

MOTION:

A motion is requested to open the floor for public comment.

Moved by: <u>Dr. Snyder</u> Second: <u>Dr. Alberti</u> Vote: <u>Unanimous</u>

2. Public Comment

- **a.** Doug Maute of 141 Pleasant Valley Avenue commented that the process was not transparent as he and the public do not know who applied or what they had to offer and feels this should have been an open process.
- **b.** Bill Blanche of 325 Springhouse Lane expressed his opinion on the process as well as the quality of the schools and public library.

3. Close Public Comment

MOTION:

A motion is requested to close the floor for public comment.

Moved by: <u>Dr. Snyder</u> Second: <u>Dr. Alberti</u> Vote: <u>Unanimous</u>

X. Adjournment – 9:00 p.m.

Moved by: <u>Dr. Snyder</u> Second: <u>Dr. Alberti</u> Vote: <u>Unanimous</u>

Respectfully submitted,

James M. Heiser, CPA Board Secretary